Home

If you are craving some nature, incredible landscapes and peaceful evenings I can’t think of anywhere better than Utah.
I’ve done this little trip by myself and I was talking out loud while looking at the breathtaking sand cliffs, rock arches, natural bridges, and canyons…

I began in Moab, where I could I’ve stayed way longer, a little town with all the services and adventure offers you can imagine. Dirt bike, bike, hike, drive and ATV, camp, climb, do rafting, or just sit down and look around.

Arches National Park is a must see while being in Moab, a 10 dollar fee will let you drive in the park for 7 days and experience some amazing views.
However, if you only have few hours the musts are the Landscape arch, Balanced rock, and the sunset at Delicate arch. Driving through the entire park won’t take you long, so you can stop everywhere to take pictures.
To get to Delicate arch, make sure you have enough time to get there by the sunset, it’s a 3 mile round trip hike, so bring water!

Landscape Arch

Delicate Arch at Sunset

Delicate Arch

After a long day in the park, a good rest is needed, if you are not travelling with a tent or a RV and you are looking for an hotel, Ramada Downtown in Moab has some of the most comfortable beds I’ve ever slept in. Nice and spacious rooms and a inviting outdoor pool and hot tub complete the deal.
I also recommend Moab Brewery for a well-needed dinner and Pancake House for breakfast.

Canyonlands is another must see in the area, too bad I didn’t have time to visit it as I was heading to Monroe, a little town in the middle of nowhere close to Richfield. It’s about a 3 hours drive from Moab through the highway I-70. But that wasn’t my plan, instead I took a 7 hours drive and I enjoyed some of the most spectacular views I could have imagined.

The Route 95 is a scenic way and they don’t call it this way for nothing. It’s mainly straight, but when there are turns you better be prepared to stop as you might want to take a picture to remember.

Natural Bridges Natural Park

Natural Bridges Natural Park

I had a hard time taking pictures, as none would look as magnificent as the area is. While in the route 95 you will drive through many national parks. I took the loop at the Natural Bridges National Monument and realized that is a great place to stay overnight and do few hikes.

One of my favorite parts of the drive is when you cross the bridge of the Colorado river and drive by the Glen Canyon National Park, you have a spectacular look out over the Devils river and I would literally stop every ½ mile to take pictures.  When you think there is nothing else to see, boom! The road turns and you have a completely different and spectacular landscape to admire, like when you drive through the Capitol Reef National Park.

Monroe's sky

My little cabin in Mystic Hot Springs

As I said, I ended up in Monroe, and why there? There is where the Mike’s Mystic Springs are. This place is hard to define, it’s definitely mystic and authentic. You can stay in an 1865 Pioneer cabin, as I did. Or maybe I you prefer an equipped old school bus. You can also park your RV or plant your tent. I would describe the resort as a hippie campground with some amazing surprises: Take the time to talk to the owner Mike, he’s got some amazing stories to tell, and the hot springs are definitely a must-do, so you relax while you think about all the amazing places you’ve seen in the past few days.

Mystic Hot Springs

Mystic Hot Springs

Leave a Reply

