Home

Silvia Mittermüller and Tini Gruber with a big smile in Kesytone, just for the sake of it!

Few days ago (I must admit being at ISPO gave me a lot of good topics) I met with the German editor of a huge snowboard magazine, and as we were going through many topics, the classic: investors vs. passionate workers, came up.
It’s a classic because it seems that in this industry who’s got the money has no clue about snowboarding, and those who know need more cash.
Then, when talking about media is even more complicated as everything is changing and the old business plans are not valid anymore. But that’s a whole different story.
My point here is if the actual media is really focused on the sport or the “core” business?
My friend said he was there trying to change things, and let the snowboard creativity be. But I understand it can’t be easy with Londoners bosses who only know about money.
Probably, if money is what you need, snowboard media is not the right door to open. Meanwhile, let us be.

5 thoughts on “Snowboard media: business or creativity?

  1. I have to admit, I read this 10x and most likely didn’t understand your post at all.

    Why is business approach killing creativity in – let’s say a magazine (assuming that print media falls within your definition of ‘actual media’ or ‘snowboard media’)? I had always thought that content (creativity) was in fact the essence that was being sold (business).

    I’m curious to hear more about this topic. What did you for example mean by ‘letting the snowboard creativity be’?

    • Hey Jan, first of all thanks for your comment and your interest about the topic.
      What I meant with all this is way more simple than it might seem. Let me explain: When I first began writing I found fantastic I could write everything it came to my mind, the freedom of it. Obviously the content is creative, and that not only happens in snowboard media but in all the printed and non-printed media. However, I remeber times when that content wasn’t influenced, at least not as much as it is now, for the advertised brands which are the main income for the magazines. This is the business I mean it might not let “the snowboard creativity be”, plus some investors who don’t really care about the interesting content but the content that generates direct income for them: advertisment and sponsored news.
      Maybe it’s a topic little too complex to talk about in a short blog-post like mine, but there is still another factor that the press industry (not only in boardsports) hasn’t realized yet: the classic business model of advertisment. I don’t think that works as good as it used to work anymore.
      So by this I agree with you that selling (to the readers) the content doesn’t kill the creativity of it, but the companies (who pay for advertisment) do control it.

      And to not extend myself more than needed, by “letting the snowboard creativity be” I mean that there are really good writers, communication professionals, great photographers, filmers and of course talented snowboarders that can offer greater content, creative for its different origin which is no other than the passion for what they do and their own way to live it.

      • Dear Alba, thanks for your explanatory post! 🙂

        I’m not an expert in this nor am I aware of all the methods advertisers may or may not be using to control the snowboarding media. However, in my understanding, generally in todays world a large part of the public is very critical and can easily see through (too) obviously advertiser influenced content and are also very quick to abandon it if they don’t like it. On the other hand, at the same time the media, in any event, is always influenced by the advertisers. I bet in many cases the very same advertisers who are sticking their noses into the content, as you mentioned, are also sponsoring the riders who appear in the media. Furthermore, in a lot of cases journalists, photographers and whatever crew could also be sponsored by the advertisers to for example attend events in different parts of the world. In this respect, we’re dealing with a double edged sword (to some extent) don’t you think? Put another way, one could really not bite the hand that feeds.

        Moreover, if the public/customer base is not critical to the advertisers’ chosen methods i.e. if they are buying the product (tv, video, magazines etc) and not complaining at all of the “controlled content” – then it most likely would be impossible to reach the desired effect by convincing the advertisers to change whatever it is that they are urged to change or stay away from.

        I find this topic very interesting but before this turns into a novel I end my reply here. 🙂

      • I totally agree in what you say, in fact is the reality, and I’m the first one who doesn’t want to bite the hands that feed me, as you said. But I must admit I’m a romantic when it comes to communication and telling stories, creating content and thats the truth origin of my very first post. 🙂 And you know what? I think it is changing and the costumers are now demanding different things, which is beginning I guess. We’ll see what happens!!
        Thanks again for sharing your super interesting thoughts here!

Leave a Reply

